Take Action

San Diego parents deserve the right to vote for a school board that puts our children’s education first. Join fellow parents and advocates to demand the right to vote for school board members that represent our communities – and term limits to keep San Diego public schools flourishing. There are several ways you can get involved with Community Voices for Education’s efforts. Join us!


Upcoming Events: Attend a Town Hall Meeting Near You

We need your voice at an upcoming town hall meeting! If we want our school board process to change, we need to show legislators that the public overwhelmingly supports those efforts. Mark your calendars and RSVP to let us know you can attend!

Monday, April 23, 2018 at 6:00 pm
Mission Bay Hill High School, Media Center
2475 Grand Ave, San Diego, CA 92109
RSVP today!

Thursday, April 26, 2018 at 6:00 pm
Sherman Elementary School, Cafetorium
301 22nd St, San Diego, CA 92102
RSVP today!

Saturday, April 28, 2018 at 10:00 am
Lincoln High School, Library
4777 Imperial Ave, San Diego, CA 92113
RSVP today!


Take the School Board Survey

The SDUSD Elections Advisory Committee has been tasked with gathering community feedback they can use to recommend changes to the City Council regarding school board elections. But current school board members don’t want elections to change – so many of the survey questions are intended to muddle the results. 

Please fill out this survey to signal to the school board and city council that we will not be silenced when it comes to our children’s education! Specifically, We would like for our parents to consider voting “yes” for question number 2 and number 4. By doing so, you will be voting in favor of school board term limits, and sub-district elections to ensure we have fresh talent that come from the communities they intend to serve. Learn more about why these changes are important.

The survey is available in English, Spanish, Tagalog, and Vietnamese.


Become a Volunteer

Join us on the front lines or behind the scenes! Sign Up for our mailing list to stay up to date on CVE activities – and be sure to check YES next to the question, “Do you want to get more involved with CVE efforts?” for volunteer opportunities!


Contact Your City Council Member

If you cannot attend one of the upcoming Town Halls, please send your opinion to your council member! Tell them that you want sub-district elections and term limits! Find your representative’s contact information below and make your voice heard!


District 1: Barbara Bry Councilmember barbarabry@sandiego.gov
Jamie Fox Chief of Staff jfox@sandiego.gov
Victoria Joes Director of Policy vcjoes@sandiego.gov


District 2: Lorie Zapf Councilmember loriezapf@sandiego.gov
Kelly Batten Chief of Staff kmbatten@sandiego.gov
Liezl Mangonon, Director of Policy and Outreach lmangonon@sandiego.gov,


District 3: Chris Ward Councilmember christopherward@sandiego.gov
Molly Chase Chief of Staff mbchase@sandiego.gov
Pamela Ison Chief of Policy paison@sandiego.gov


District 4: Myrtle Cole Council President myrtlecole@sandiego.gov
Jimmie Slack Chief of Staff jslack@sandiego.gov
Venus Molina Chief of Policy vmolina@sandiego.gov


District 5: Mark Kersey Council President Pro Tem markkersey@sandiego.gov
Elizabeth Spillane Chief of Staff espillane@sandiego.gov
Nikki Jimenez Director of Communications njimenez@sandiego.gov


District 6: Chris Cate Councilmember chriscate@sandiego.gov
James Hauser Chief of Staff jhauser@sandiego.gov
Ian Clampett Deputy Chief of Staff / Director of Policy iclampett@sandiego.gov


District 7: Scott Sherman Councilmember scottsherman@sandiego.gov
Barrett Tetlow Chief of Staff btetlow@sandiego.gov
Ryley Webb Policy Director rwebb@sandiego.gov


District 8: David Alvarez Councilmember davidalvarez@sandiego.gov
Travis Knowles Chief of Staff knowlest@sandiego.gov
Kevin Smith Chief of Policy KSSmith@sandiego.gov


District 9: Georgette Gómez Councilmember georgettegomez@sandiego.gov
Dominika Bukalova Chief of Staff dbukalova@sandiego.gov
Lara Gates Chief of Policy lgates@sandiego.gov